My Momma’s Raggedy Bible

I had a chance to nurse my mom back to health after her recent minor surgery. I am always grateful about opportunities to give back to someone who gave me so much. It was truly my pleasure. As I assisted her up the stairs of my home and ushered her in to my son’s bedroom, her private guest quarters for next few days, I wondered how I could make her as comfortable as possible.

She sat down on the bed and I started my mad scramble, gathering blankets and pillows and tv remote and even a phone intercom so she could reach anyone in the house at any time. Perfect! I thought, She has EVERYTHING she needs. She smiles graciously and fills the room with “THANK YOU’s” but, just before I left the room to give her some much needed privacy and rest, she called out to me…

“Son, can you hand me my bag?”

“Yes ma’am, sure! This one?”

“Yup! That’s the one.”

I had a chance to nurse my mom back to health after her recent minor surgery. I am always grateful about opportunities to give back to someone who gave me so much. It was truly my pleasure. As I assisted her up the stairs of my home and ushered her in to my son’s bedroom, her private guest quarters for next few days, I wondered how I could make her as comfortable as possible.

She sat down on the bed and I started my mad scramble, gathering blankets and pillows and tv remote and even a phone intercom so she could reach anyone in the house at any time. Perfect! I thought, She has EVERYTHING she needs. She smiles graciously and fills the room with “THANK YOU’s” but, just before I left the room to give her some much needed privacy and rest, she called out to me…

“Son, can you hand me my bag?”

“Yes ma’am, sure! This one?”

“Yup! That’s the one.”

bible

 

BibleShe reaches in to her large purse and pulls out an OLD RAGGEDY BIBLE. You know the one, the corners are bent, pages are torn, chapters are surely missing. A rainbow of colored highlights and pen marks with “important” notes commemorate her most favorite scriptures, adorning verse after verse after verse. She sits that old raggedy bible on a stand… Looks at me and says,

“Now, I have everything I need!”

That blessed my soul.

 

I thank God for that old raggedy bible. I thank God for the words in it that bible changed her life forever. The words in it that have kept her drug and alcohol free for the last 21 years. (Romans 6:18) The one that gives her FAITH beyond all her FEARS. (Luke 10:19) That raggedy bible that she uses to comfort the broken (Psalms 34:18) and give them a reason to keep holding on. (1Peter 5:10) That bible that she has used to give herself faith and encouragement when I (myself) gave her so much reason to doubt what God promised her concerning her children. (Proverbs 31:28) It was that bible that saved her life.

I thank God for that very special gift. That Bible is Special.

Heralded preacher and theologian Charles Spurgeon once said.
“A Bible that’s falling apart usually belongs to someone who isn’t.”

I definitely agree with THAT!

(Love You Mommy)

 

Love You Guys!

Stay On The Chase

Pastor Donte

One thought on “My Momma’s Raggedy Bible

Leave a Reply

